Chebucto Community Net Annual General Meeting 2016 Minutes April 19, 2017, 7:00 p.m. Slonim Room, Goldberg Building, Dalhousie University

Board members present: Shahab Rowshan , Ed Dyer, Nina Dyer, Alan Turner , Deborah Dostal, Chris Maxwell, Doug Rigby , Corrie Watt, Alan Otto, Nancy Armstrong

Members present: Richard Bonner, Joan Cianfaglione, Tony Cianfaglione, Leigh Mackintosh, Therese Mackintosh, Helen Blake, Jonathan M.B. Downing, Sylvia Mangalan, John Howard Oxley, Ken Saxton, Mary Rigby, Malcolm Bayne, John Mackay, Andrew Wright.

A Meet and Greet took place from 7:00 to 7:30

Call to order

1. Minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting

Approval of the minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting (April 2016) was moved by Doug Rigby and seconded by Alan Turner; motion carried.

2. Report from the Chair

The report from the chair was included in the handouts. Some of the highlights included the presentation to the CRTC, efforts to recruit more volunteers, especially among Dalhousie students and the progress on the manors project. In response to a question about the "health" of CCN it was noted that the organization is close to being self-sufficient but we are not sure about where we are heading. Shahab and Chris are working on getting leases signed with Dalhousie. We are also looking at technology change. There was a question about the relationship between CCN and Dal. The response was that we are getting some positive reactions from Dal. John MacKay suggested that we should show Dal how we are contributing to the university e.g. providing a generator for security during power outages. Doug Rigby moved acceptance of the Chair's report and Mary Rigby seconded.

John MacKay made a motion that the board appoint a spokesperson to approach the Dal Board of Governors to make them aware of the existence of CCN and our activities. John Howard Oxley seconded and the motion was carried with one vote against.

The acceptance of the Chair's report was carried unanimously.

3. Treasurer's Report

Alan Turner gave a verbal report. He noted that the income was slightly less than the year before and the expenses were slightly more due to the travel and training expenses for Andrew Wright. However, the expense for Eastlink was lower. It appears that we will be alright financially for next year.

Andrew Wright asked for a tax receipt for his services during the time he was on half salary. It was noted that CRA does not allow tax receipts for services.

Alan Turner moved acceptance of his report and Nancy Armstrong seconded; the motion was carried.

4. <u>Report from Policy Committee</u>

Andrew's report was included in the handouts. It listed some incidents of abuse and compromised activities by members. It also mentioned that Andrew will no longer serve as Chair of the Policy Committee.

Doug Rigby moved acceptance of the Policy Committee report and Alan Otto seconded; motion carried.

5. Technical Report

Chris Maxwell's report was included in the handouts. The major issues included: Planned and unplanned power outages which create a significant expense to maintain services. The Halifax mail server is wearing out.

Mail problems caused by unstable old servers.

The dial-up service which some members are still using. Tony Cianfaglione and Richard Bonner volunteered to work on the Text service.

Future internet service to the manors.

A discussion ensued regarding moving forward and adapting to new technology as well a concern with power outages. It was suggested that we establish percentage and cost of being out of service. Chris moved acceptance of his report and John Mackay seconded; the motion was carried. The members endorsed appreciation of the work of Andrew Wright and thanked all the volunteers.

6. Election of Directors

Two members appointed by the board, Alan Otto and Nancy Armstrong have agreed to stay on. Doug Rigby, Shahab Rowshan, Ed Dyer, Doug Brown, Alan Turner and Chris Maxwell will serve another term. Roger Spencer is not staying on. Jonathan Downing nominated John Howard Oxley and John Howard Oxley nominated Jonathan Downing.

Acceptance of the nominations to the board was by acclamation.

7. Appointment of the Auditor

The members moved the acceptance of Joanne DesRosier of Harnish DesRosier Chartered Accountants to be the auditor for the next AGM.

8. Other Business

The members asked for the reason that Andrew left CCN. He stated that he was unhappy with the decision-making process. It was suggested to hire Andrew as a consultant to provide documentation for the Board. Tony Cianfaglione moved that the Board should handle the decision to hire Andrew as a consultant as needed to get the office up to par. Richard Bonner seconded and the motion was carried with 5 against.

9. Awarding of the door prizes

The door prizes were awarded as follows: earrings to Alan Otto, hand crafted scarf to Joan Cianfaglione, painting to Malcolm Dane, gift card to Sheila Gordon and LED light bulbs to Sylvia Mangalan

10. The meeting was adjourned